Good mood in 5 minutes. Children’s book. The Montessori method of education / social physics, or the basics of systems theory for kids.

w

Wonder is about SOCIAL PHYSICS, or the basis of systems theory for kids. This is a book for DEVELOPING CREATIVE THINKING, pressing flowers, measuring height, playing ping pong, or just reading.

© wondersbook


Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 12.39.17For example:

Things do not come into contact with each other. If a person is walking towards another person, they’ll get close to each other, but they never touch. Not even if they run into each other with their foreheads. If we observed this situation at the level of atoms, we’d see that one forehead’s atoms don’t touch the other forehead’s atoms. They interact through different forces, but don’t touch. If they were to touch, we would pass through each other, like water through a sieve.

Also, when standing on the ground, we technically don’t touch it. Our shoe atoms don’t make contact with the floor’s atoms.

The same happens with things that we learn. We can learn japanese and, just maybe, become a japanese language teacher, but even then we can never say that we’ve learnt this language in its entirety. There will always be new and undiscovered nuances.


Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 13.53.57For example:

When I went to school, the drawing teacher once told me that I’ve drawn the assignment wrong. It made me mad and I said:“I draw how I want to!”. The teacher answered that I’m drawing the way I know how to, not how I want to.

To do what we want, time and patience is necessary. Or, you have to look for a different way to get around momentum.


Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 13.59.10For example:

For people to understand each other, they have to speak in a language that’s understood by both sides – the speaker and the listener. If you try to tell a Brit something in russian, he most likely won’t understand anything – neither in the present nor the past. Even people who speak the same language can be so different, that conflicts can arise from not understanding each other. Conflict can be saved by empathy, or the ability to feel what they’re feeling in their position.


Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 14.04.45For example:

If we want to let loose, then we listen to rhythmic music, but if we want to be calm, then calmer music, or even silence or the sounds of nature would be more appropriate. Music also creates the mood for discussions, or even topics. If you’re at an event, notice the music that’s playing in the background, then you’ll see how the conversations and topics change with each new song, without even noticing it.


Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 14.11.00For example:

We would listen to a song many times, many years ago, but now, we don’t like it anymore. The song hasn’t changed – what has changed, is our perspective and attitude. The same happens with many things and activities. There are many that we didn’t like in childhood, perhaps we even hated them, but now they seem very enjoyable. For me, for example, that’s chopping wood 🙂


Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 14.57.18 copy

For example:

If a child wants a sweet it’ll ask for it. It doesn’t say “I don’t want rye bread!” – hoping to receive a sweet. If we want peace in the world, then we also have to ask for it. If we deny the reality without offering anything to replace it, we won’t get anything.


Wonders are right here, in front of our noses. They’re so close that we can’t even see them – just like the palm of your hand, if you put it too close to your eye. Losing faith in wonders builds a wall of prejudice, behind which it’s difficult to see something unexplored and surprising. My goal is to create a space that encourages curiosity and renew a belief in the unknown and currently unexplainable, in  case for some reason it has been lost. Curiosity is a path to knowledge, without knowledge we can’t explain wonders.

Cheers! WONDERS author Aldis Kalniņš

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 19.41.25

Chek the full digital free version of Wonders at Issuu

ISBN: 9789934111778 Hardcover Pages: 32 Age range: 4 – 12 Years Product size: in 8×8 / m 20×20 © wondersbook

Contact: aldisir@gmail.com


6 thoughts on “Good mood in 5 minutes. Children’s book. The Montessori method of education / social physics, or the basics of systems theory for kids.

  1. HI Aldis
    I think I want to buy the book though I have my reservations.
    Initially for myself and if it beats my sceptism then I will order 3 for my nephews and niece.
    Initially I would prefer I receive the book first. Sorry I am cynic but easily swayed for me $18 is a lot of money.
    I will reimburse cost of book and shipping straight away. Thank youl
    My address
    2/25 Jenner Street
    Baulkham Hills
    NSW 2153
    Australia

  2. Hi!

    What a charming book! Would you send it to Mexico? If not, is there a digital version for me?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

